Armitage with Handsacre Village Friends is a service provided by Handsacre Methodist and The Church of St. John the Baptist, Armitage, with support and guidance from Support Staffordshire. The service is also supported by the village parish council. The data controller is Geolith, a social enterprise of Handsacre Methodist Church, working on behalf of Armitage with Handsacre Village Friends.
What data do we collect?
We collect the minimum amount of data necessary to enable our volunteers to help those in need during the COVID-19 outbreak. This data differs to some extent depending on whether you are a client or a volunteer.
Typically, we will always need to collect the following information for both clients and volunteers:
First and last name Telephone number and/or e-mail address
Depending on your need for the service, we may collect the following:
We may collect the following:
Whether you have a current DBS certificate Telephone number E-mail address Social media ID
How will we use your data?
We will use your data only to provide you with a service that you have requested from us. We will not use the data for any other purpose.
In order for our volunteers to help you, some of your data will be passed on to the specific individual(s) responding to your need, for example - your address, what shopping you would like to have purchased, the chemist from which a prescription is to be collected.
If your request is better resolved by another body such as the NHS or Staffordshire County Council we may pass on some of your information to such a body but we will not do so without first asking for your permission.
The only situation where information may be shared with another organisation without your consent is with regard to safeguarding, where information may be shared with safeguarding organisations without your consent according to English law.
We will not otherwise pass on your data for use by any other parties.
We will use your data to enable you to serve our clients. Your data will not be passed on to clients with the exception of your first name so that the client is aware who is going to be contacting them.
If you sign up for the "update" e-mail then we will use your e-mail address to send "update" -emails to you.
How is your data stored and processed?
Where you provide information to the system by e-mail, our e-mail system does not store any of that information. The e-mail content is forwarded to a computerised support system and the data is managed inside this system. However, the fact that you have sent us an e-mail and the address from which you sent the e-mail is available in the server logs for a few days after it has arrived. This information is only available to our server maintenance staff and those of the hosting provider.
Your e-mail provider will keep both the e-mail you have sent to us and any replies we make to you unless you specifically delete these e-mails from your "Sent" mailbox and "Inbox" mailbox respectively.
Where you provide information by telephone to one of our volunteers in person, the information is not directly recorded. However the person that you speak to will send the minimum information required to provide the help you have requested to the computerised support system.
Where you provide information by telephone on the answering service, your 'phone call will be sent in digital form to the computerised support system.
Where you provide information by a social media platform, such as Facebook or WhatsApp, you are strongly recommended to use a "private message" so the information is not visible to anyone other than those who need to know. Our social media monitors will then copy the minimum information required to provide the help you have requested to the computerised support system.
You have the right to request all data which is held relating to you and the system is able to provide this. However, this requires interaction with a human (i.e. it is not available as an automated process within the system user interface).
You have the right to request that data which is held relating to you be deleted and the system has this capability. However, this requires interaction with a human (i.e. it is not available as an automated process within the system user interface). In any case, if there has been no interaction between Armitage with Handsacre Village Friends or Geolith and yourself for 6 months then all data relating to you will be deleted.
The computerised support system encrypts the information contained in the exchange between yourself and the volunteer(s) helping you.
As a volunteer, you will be/have been asked for quite a lot of information in order to be able assess which work you are well fitted to carry out.
This section describes how this information is managed.
The form on which you enter data is provided by one of two third parties (Formstack, for forms submitted prior to 14th April 2020, or (Paperform for forms submitted from 14th April 2020). The data is provided from the form to them over an encrypted connection and is stored in an encrypted database.
Formstack staff are not able to decode it. The form information is sent in a PGP-encrypted e-mail to one of two specific members of our volunteering team for entry into a password-protected spreadsheet.
A small number of Paperform technical staff do have access to the data but they are monitored by Paperform to ensure GDPR-compliance. The form information is processed by one of two specific members of our volunteering team for entry into a password-protected spreadsheet.
The password-protected spreadsheet is stored on a cloud filesystem which is encrypted at rest, and a backup is stored on a USB stick. Only those volunteers who determine which volunteer will answer a client's need have access to the spreadsheet or its password.
Where you supply attachments (e.g. scan of DBS certificate and photograph) these are not stored in the database but in a secure filesystem which is encrypted at rest.
DBS certificates are checked by a member of the volunteering staff and are then deleted.
Photographs are used to generate your ID card and then deleted. This means that if you lose your ID card then you will have to fill in the volunteer form again.
Volunteers may opt in to an "update" e-mail. You have the right to un-subscribe from this at any point and the option to do so is provided in the e-mail. This "update" e-mail is managed by a third party
Cookies & reCAPTCHA